BEST OF ST LOUIS, “PEOPLE & PLACES”

people & places.150

As promised, I’ve included a long forgotten character into the BEST OF ST LOUIS series from the archives of the YOU ARE HERE weekly column: “CHIP, THE DANCIN’ FOOL. I’ve intentionally chosen perhaps the most obscure and forgotten character to resurrect from the YOU ARE HERE columns, for no other reason than that I always liked Chip. Chip’s unique skill is his uncanny ability to interpret just about everything into dance. Although Chip received very little airtime on the YOU ARE HERE show, I had always hoped to include him in more programs – he’s a fascinating interview. It was a sincere pleasure to have found this new platform to showcase my friend, Chip. Incidentally, the art director for this project has been on vacation. The only illustration he’s seen for this project is the RESTAURANT image. His words before leaving went something like: “Go ahead, just keep turning out the junk food!” And so I have. I wish I could be present when he returns to find my latest contributions. I’m sure he’ll throw even MORE money at me, out of pure gratitude. It can be painful having so much money thrown at you. Of course, there’s a better chance that things’ll go the other way: The art director will discover what I’ve done, realise that giving me free reign was about as safe as unleashing a dogĀ  in the middle of a freeway and saying, “Go play!”….in which case, I will be receiving less money. Much less. And I wonder if his job will be at stake (after a vacation, no less!). Certainly mine will be. But how many others will I take down with me? NEXT UP (If all goes well): Santa Claus getting socked in the gut at dawn in the middle of a strip club parking lot. That’s the subject of the next illustration. Anyway, I’ve been wearing the exact outfit every day, all summer. Not the same clothes, though: I found what I believe to be the perfect trousers and perfect t-shirt, so I bought seven of each (because there are seven days in a week, if you get my logic). So if you see me and I’m not wearing that outfit, well…it isn’t me you’re seeing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

