“THE PASSENGER” SHORT FILM

…Well, maybe not a film exactly: I think of it more as an audio-visual experiment based on one of the new short stories meant for FOLKTALES, called the PASSENGER. You can see the original comic version in the spring issue of MOME. You might notice that in earlier posts, The PASSENGER has been adapted to a spoken-word “radio drama”. The below “film” is something of an adaptation of an adaptation – a collaborative piece put together by my partner-in-crime, Franklin Oros, and myself. All credits are indicated at the end of the short, so I won’t state them here. But, again, the principal idea here is to expand on character and story, increasing the amount of nuance and subtlety allowed for the reader/viewer/story-recipient to collect in order to create their own unique vision of the story. Ultimately, the idea is to give you a bunch of puzzle pieces, from which you create an imagined version of the story. Or, as Joey would put it: “Blah, blah, blah, blah….”

Here’s the leather coat illustration from the film. I drew it in my sketchbook and it made its way into the film:

And speaking of sketchbook drawings – on a completely unrelated topic – here’s a drawing of the 1963 Corvair that I almost bought this summer, if it hadn’t been for the wisdom of my close friend and fellow artist, Ron Laboray, who pointed out with extraordinary detail just what a pile of lousy crap it was (exhaust pluming into the cabin: A death trap, sadly, in more ways than one). I owe Ron my life, literally. But I’ve always been a Corvair fan, and this one was difficult for me to pass up (note the various haiku I wrote in homage to the loss!). Why do I always fall in love with such cars? This is the second time I tried to buy a corvair. The first time was when I was in my mid twenties. The car was 1967 Corvair with the funkiest automatic transmission system I’d ever seen. Similar problem, though: Exhaust leak into the cabin. Apparently a common problem with air-cooled engines (the Corvair’s engine was in the back, like a Volkswagon Bug; the Corvair had the distinction of being the first and last American car ever to try a rear-engine set-up.) PS: Thanks again, Ron, for saving my life.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

