RECENT BUSINESSWEEK SPOT ILLUSTRATION

ASCO illustration150

Here’s a recent illustration I did for BusinessWeek – always a fun client to work with. Below is the original concept I submitted, which I’m including because, personally, I think it’s superior to the image that was finally agreed upon. The art director apparently prefered the original, as well, but the editors found it too spooky. Spooky or not, I felt it hit the mark more powerfully, and that spookiness simply gave it more teeth (no pun intended). Nevertheless, I was pretty happy with the results, despite the awareness that watering down a concept can often lead to a less interesting final product. Slightly evident here, stylistically speaking, is the recent influence on my commercial illustration work of the great comic artist, Fletcher Hanks, who, thanks to Paul Karasik’s beautiful anthology, “I Shall Destroy All the Civilized Planets!”, is now easy to find in print.

concepts 2

Leave a Reply

